Arts & Cultural Awards


Congratulations to all our 2022 award winners!

Premier Awards 

  • Nayland College Jazz Band Cup – Outstanding contribution to Jazz Band: Jayden Day-Anthonise
  • Nigel E. Weeks QSM Trophy – Outstanding musician: Jayden Day-Anthonise
  • Chapman-Cohen Musical Award – Outstanding contribution to music: Josie Batt
  • Bruce Meikle Cup – Excellence in music: Jessica MacBrayne
  • Jones Cup – Outstanding Contribution to Dance: Lydia Fitzgerald & Mia Partington
  • Eileen Appleton-Maher Cup – Outstanding contribution to drama: Anushka Castaing &Tiaki Sharp
  • Cassandra Wells Cup – Best comedy performance: Anushka Castaing &Tiaki Sharp
  • De Jong Trophy – Outstanding selfless service to the arts: Lovinia Pluck & Tyler Curtis 

Cultural Blues

A premier award for outstanding contribution to the arts across their whole time at Nayland College.

  • Ysabella Abel, Josie Batt, Jayden Day-Anthonise, Isabel Lyttle, Jessica MacBrayne, Hailey Potts, Tiaki Sharp

Nayland College Jazz Band — Image by: Geri Sheppard

Cups & Trophies 2022

  • Kanikani Award – Most improved dancer: Alex Marshall
  • VAST Dance Festival Trophy – Most promising young dancer: Ananda Ismael
  • Nayland Dance Trophy – Attitude & Perseverance: Ella McGeady
  • Dance & Drama Award – Outstanding performances in dance & drama: Michael Vallance
  • Nayland College Junior Drama Cup – Most promising junior drama student: Thora Moffat & Simone Tabili
  • The VenueTech Cup – Outstanding contribution to backstage or technical theatre-craft: Kahu Sanson-Burnett
  • Nayland College Award For Scriptwriting and/or Directing: Will Irvine & Tegan Jessop
  • Nayland College Drama Cup – Best performance in Drama: Molly Clark & Tyler Curtis
  • Spaak Cup – Most improved junior student in music: Thora Moffat

  • Nelson City Brass Cup – Most improved brass player: Millie MacBrayne
  • Nayland College Orchestra Trophy – Outstanding contribution to Orchestra: Millie MacBrayne
  • Trinity College London Cup – Outstanding contribution to concert band: Ruth Buckland
  • Nelson Civic Choir Choral Cup – Outstanding contribution to choral music: Pippa Sussex

Pūaha Te Tai — Image by: Geri Sheppard

Cultural Awards

  • Te Whakawhanake – Most improved: Izobella Abbot
  • Te Manawanui – Commitment & participation: Kumeroa Rahipere
  • Kaitātaki Tāne – Outstanding Male Leader: Ethan Pemberton
  • Kaitātaki Wahine – Outstanding Female Leader: Mia Shepard
  • Kaitautoko – Best All Round Supporter & Cultivator of Kapa Haka: Xanthe Banks

Cultural Award winners 2022 – Xanthe Banks, Mia Shepard, Ethan Pemberton, Izobella Abbot & Kumeroa Rahipere — Image by: Geri Sheppard

Visual Arts Awards

  • Most diligent Visual Arts student: Delta Brewerton
  • Most innovative and creative visual arts student- Painting: Delta Brewerton
  • Most innovative and creative visual arts student- Photography: Kyah Young
  • Most innovative and creative visual arts student- Design: Jessica Metcalfe

Nayland College Dance 2022 — Image by: Geri Sheppard

2022 Sheilah Winn Shakespeare Competition

Presented at Nayland Arts and Cultural Prizegiving as the event was not held due to COVID

  • Rae Herd Award – Best Student Director 15 minutes:  Anushka Castaing
  • Nelson Repertory Theatre Award – Best Production 15 minutes: A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Will Power Production Award – Best understanding of the text: A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Country Player’s Award – Best Comedy: A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Management Garrick Award – Best Delivery of Lines: Tiaki Sharp
  • Rose Shepard Award – Best Actor: Molly Clarke
  • Waimea College Award – Best Tragedy: Hamlet
  • Lyndal Howley Music Award: Emily Preston-Thomas


  • Nelson Regional Rockquest Winners: Tyler Curtis, Jayden Day-Anthonise, Peter Gray, Duncan Petre
  • Rockquest National Semi Finalist: Kahu Sanson-Burnett

NayCol Chorale (mixed choir) accompanied by Mr Ross Gerritsen, Miss Kay Mackenzie & Josie Batt — Image by: Geri Sheppard

Certificates for Outstanding Contribution

Sam Gerritsen, Hannah Rodley, Annabel Batt, Finn Kerby-Pinguet, Ciara McLellan, Freya Moffat, Thora Moffat, Ruth Buckland, Katie Gray, Peter Gray, Molly Clarke, Millie MacBrayne, Russell Sarginson, Molly Sussex, Lovinia Pluck

By Nayland College