The Nayland College Board of Trustees consists of elected and appointed/co-opted members of Nayland’s community, a student representative, a staff representative and the Principal. Current members of the board are:
Mr Pat Davidsen (Board Chair)
Mr Daniel Wilson (Principal)
Ms Janice Bromell
Mr John Crabtree
Mr Ben Crawford
Mr Fynn Sawyer
Ms Margie Meleisea
Mrs Vicki Reid


The Board is responsible for the governance and the control of the management of the school. It is the employer of all staff in the school and is responsible for setting the school’s strategic direction in consultation with parents, staff and students, and for ensuring that the school provides a safe environment and quality education for all students.


You may read about the Board’s vision, mission and values for Nayland College in the charter and annual plan. It also details the strategic direction the Board has set for the school.


The Board is also responsible for overseeing the management of personnel, curriculum, property, finance and administration.


The Board meets on a regular basis throughout the year to discuss the governance of the school and to fulfill its statutory obligations. Meeting date information is displayed in the Nayland Public Calendar.


Should any member of the Nayland College community wish to put a complaint to the school, the Complaints Procedure sets out how to go about this and also explains how we deal with complaints we receive.


The Board may be contacted by email ( or by letter addressed to The Board Chair, Nayland College, 166 Nayland Road, Stoke, 7011, Nelson.

The New Zealand School Trustees Association website provides more information on school Boards of Trustees.

Nayland BOT 2015_Cropped

Board Members (2015): Daniel Wilson (Principal), Pat Davidsen, Janice Bromell, Tracy East (Board Chair), Brennan Geddes, Indigo Levett, Daniel Masters, Vicki Reid (absent).